Shingles

I have been feeling a little under the weather recently and at the end of last week came down with shingles.  It could be because the house is upside down with the building work going on, or because I’m waiting for exam results, or any number of other things.  The rash is on a section of my back where I missed with the suncream last weekend and got sunburn, so I think it may be that.

Although I swim a mile at least twice a week I haven’t felt as healthy as I did when I was running, so I decided to give it a go again this morning as I couldn’t go to a public swimming pool.  I have had ongoing problems with plantar fasciitis for years and was advised to give up running and try something else, which is why I started swimming.  I could comfortably swim a mile breastroke but took lessons because I wanted to learn how to do front crawl; initially it was really difficult, particularly breathing, but it is now my default stroke.  I struggle to motivate myself so need goals to aim for, that is easy with running as there are always races going on somewhere nearby, that’s not the case around here for swimming.  If I lived near London or Manchester they have open water challenges which would be great but we don’t have anything like that.  If the pain in my feet isn’t too bad after a week of steady short runs I would love to take it up again but if not I’m going to have to set my own goals for swimming, whether that’s faster or further I need to decide and set a deadline, otherwise I’ll fall into a rut and get bored with it.  I have also decided to fortify my diet as well; this morning instead of toast and jam I had a green smoothie.  Neil’s reaction was priceless when I gave him one too.  He said ‘my gag reaction is fighting with my swallowing, I’m not sure I can drink it.’  I think I may have to tweak the ingredients, theres no getting away from kale or spinach though.  This morning I made two glasses with 1 glass of water, 1 banana, 1 apple, 2 pears, 4 kale leaves (stalks removed), juice of a lime and about 1cm of ginger.  The first third of the glass was the worst, then I got used to it but it would definitely benefit from being chilled.  Tomorrow the fruit is coming from the fridge and not the fruit bowl.

Something to look forward to – today is the start of Kids Clothes Week so this weeks goal is to get some holiday clothes made for the kids.  Only four week until we’re in France so I need to get cracking! V Excited.

Leave a Reply

